Little Red Schoolhouse
Discover historic Newberry.
The Little Red Schoolhouse was built in 1909/1910. It was used as a K-12 school until 1930, and then as an elementary school until 1975 when the current Newberry Elementary School was built. The City of Newberry later took ownership of the building, and in 1999, began restoration with help from a State of Florida historic preservation grant and contributions from the local community. The building now houses City offices and a museum set as an original classroom, with class photos, report cards, diplomas, and other memorabilia. Come see what school was like over a half-century ago in the Little Red Schoolhouse.